When I started this blog I had the personal target of posting every day. Far from happening, but it’s still there, at the back of my mind. As is cutting down smoking, eating tasteless healthy food, taking care of my body, reading more or being in Forbes before I hit my 30s.  I often live the paradox of having too much to say and share and ending up not doing it at all.  A bit like when you have all these recipes of tasty dishes in your head, a fridge full of ingredients and you go to bed snacking on some tortilla.  So as an attempt to catch up with you guys, here’s what’s been happening lately and been consuming my synapses:

  • Guy Fawkes night. Been waiting for it for a while, being the 1st year I am in London in this period. Made sure I had my agenda clear. Charged batteries for both my cameras. Even planned a warm and comfy outfit so I could lay on the grass somewhere if required. Then on the day I started google-ing locations for fireworks. the disappointment cannot be described. There were only a few places, not counting the ones you had to pay an entry fee, most of the located in areas I’ve never set foot before. I searched and searched for Central London happenings, but guess what, the more sweat I gathered on the forehead and keyboard, the more empty searches I got. In the end BfF and I decided to go to Embankment, betting our lives something HAS to happen there.  Took the cameras, floated until there, visualised the outrageous amount of mulled wine I was gonna drink and…nothing! Absolutely nothing! Not even the merchant stools from previous years. Not 1 sparkle on the sky. Not a thing to stare at. Dear Mayor of London, I as a foreigner have been deeply disappointed and let down.  There have been more fireworks where I live than in Central. I felt like a kid whose candy was stolen.
  • Country Living Christmas Fair. A massive event I had to work for, this past weekend. I had it all planed. I’d wake up early morning, prepare a snack to take with me, make my self all pretty presentable and use my breaks to snoop on the stools and stock up Christmas presents for my dear ones. Think again. I was supposed to be out of the house at 9am, at 9.15am I’ve been waken up by a call. The drama. The panic. The hurry. I left the house without having my vital coffee, or checking my creased faced in the mirror, ran in my furry coat on a warm sunny day and sweated like a pig, all to discover that Northern Line, which was my only hope, was closed down for repairs. To say I felt the world spinning would be an understatement. I ran again. And the more I ran, the slower I felt I was moving. Another paradox, huh? Did I get lots of nice pressies? Wrong again! I didn’t have time to even drink a drop of water – not to mention my darn coffee. Lots of people, with lots of bags, they seemed thousands to me,  compensated for what I was supposed to do.
  • Eurozone and occupy movements.  Now, I have always been interested in politics and the way this world is. I see it as my duty to know what’s going on with me in the end. Where we and in the last instance, I am heading to. I must say I have never been this worried.  Because I see no outcome. Many have asked repeatedly what good could ever come from the popular uprising – in Greece, Spain, Austria or Wall Street. Many see it as powerless, futureless people massing for no cause, or without having something better to suggest to the current situation.  I think the premise is wrong to start with. It’s not about the consequences or what they/we can change, It’s about a basic, most fundamental human response possible.   When we lack outcomes and we endure unnatural, abusive encroaching from all directions, the only thing left to do is to make sure they understand you reject it.  It’s a dignified gesture that states our human condition and natural rights that come with it. I have see footage from around Europe, many taken by friends who are in the middle of all this. I must say I am not happy. I fear my future and my unborn children’s future. And i frown at people my age or a bit older not giving a monkey’s ass about it.
  • Christmas plans. I have always spent Christmas with my family – I am one of those rare species who enjoy their parent’s company and whatever relatives come along. But this year I might be stuck in London. Now that is what I ‘d call a big booooo to life! Good thing is, though I am very behind with gifts – see previous points, I have stocked up on Christmas cards, with which I couldn’t be more pleased. And I was able to personalise them with the most mushy greetings ever. Don’t judge me, I am not cheesy all the time! But their illustrations were so sweet and endearing I just couldn’t help myself. Not to mention the great service.  I got them this morning and I must say, I have found my new obsession for whenever I need personalised stationery.
  • New year’s Eve. Now, if you read previous point, you know I might be in London for Christmas, which leads to the next big thing. What is there to do on New Year’s Eve? And I don’t want to leave it on the last day, as I already experienced the Guy Fawkes disappointment. Any suggestions will be more than welcomed.
This should cover the last month of hectic thoughts and wishful thinking I’ve been going through. Did I mention I would really like to start posting daily?

 

