You know how you start every new year with a dumb grin on your face thinking that after 12 o’clock  your will power shall change by magic and you’ll actually start doing this and that and being like this or like that? As if the next morning it’s not still the same old you there ( maybe with an added hangover) with your same old habits, and behavior patterns.

Well, this year I refused to engage in this self betrayal of happily giving up to who I am for a projected better me. Don’t get me wrong, I am not against changing or improving or achievement, I just think that these don’t come to replace something. They just complete it. And it’s a slow process, organically built, and it comes with life experiences and living. As simple as that. Not with a list that’s meant to take you places. No list will do that. Only you will.

I won’t deny it, I did make a resolution list – just I won’t swear by it. It’s been made just so I can read it next year and remember how I was this year. A sort of letter to myself that once it’s been written there’s no point thinking about it. Yes, of course I would like to be more organised, disciplined, focused and all that society is so hungry for – but I won’t fight myself for it. After all, I owe it to my inner mini-me, the minimum freedom of being.

But reading the signs   (as any respectable superstitious person would do) I think 2012 will be an interesting year. I finished last year with Murakami’s Norwegian Wood, started this one with lovely company, London fireworks, a random street concert,  Everything is Illuminated – ohhhh how I loved it! the simplicity of it, the savor! lots of chocolate and other sweets, lots of drinks and lots of work. And I realised you don’t need much to be happy. Just a bit of simple magic. Which I wish to all of you.

